Random Thoughts for a Sunday Evening

I’ve spent way too much time today trying to download a new software package only to find out that there is an inherent problem with the software when trying to load on a Mac Operating System. Don’t you think the company, in this case Adobe, would publicize this fact front and center on their help page? It took a very long string of posts on this subject to finally reach the one from an Adobe employee that had the cure. (It appears to be some kind of magic with the date 11/01/11 that causes the software to expire. And here everyone was scared of 11/11/11.)

There is a Facebook group/person/entity called ‘Trust Me I’m an Engineer’ who posts some really great photos and cartoons about the engineering life. The complaint I have with them is that most of the pictures are depicting male engineers. I’m guessing the owners of this page are men and could be non-US as well. It’s about time we recognized that engineers are female and male, although some could be considered animals, I’ll leave it at two-legged humans. So sharpen your pens and pencils and include both sexes in your humor. Then all of us can enjoy it.

We’re wrapping up our calendar year at work. The aerospace biz does have one component that other industries, to my knowledge, don’t: massive amounts of time off around the holidays. From December 23rd to January 2nd, paid holiday time is given out. Add a couple of vacation days and two weeks of no work is coming my way.

Time to think of resolutions for next year. I’ve started helping out robotics competitions for middle school and high school students. I’m hoping to speak to the Society of Women Engineers club at the University of Oklahoma in February. I’d like to kick it up a few notches and get more involved in mentoring our young students to consider a STEM career. Perhaps at the technical school level or in some other way. Suggestions?

Of course, I still have a lot of stories to share about my experiences in engineering and plan to continue. I’ve enjoyed the comments that have been posted. We’ve all ‘been there, done that’ in a lot of ways, inside or outside of an engineering career.

Speaking of comments: I’m still taking comments to provide a free coffee to one of our soldiers via the ‘Cup of Joe for a Joe’ program. I’ll buy up to thirty cups in exchange for thirty comments. No obligation for you by commenting, I don’t know how to spam, I’d just love the feedback. Thanks for reading and commenting!

 

About stemzandroses

I'm an engineer and writer with a built-in need to share my nearly 40 years of experience working in a male-dominated field with the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random Thoughts for a Sunday Evening

  1. CE Jones says:

    Ok, if one person leaves more than one comment, does that count as one, or, do you count each comment in order to qualify for the free coffee?

    • I was hoping to get 30 individuals to comment, but I’ll take what I can get. Cutoff is next week. The weather will be turning and I’m sure the soldiers will be needing a cup of HOT coffee!

  2. JL says:

    SWE (Society of women engineers) is a good start to find the girls (and sometimes guys, believe it or not) that haven’t yet figured out why they put Engineering on their college applications yet. Most of them feel pressured to stay in Engineering for whatever reason, but they’d love to develop a passion for it (with someone’s help!). AIAA is also good, but most of the students in AIAA will already have a strong inclination towards aerospace.
    Perhaps the best way to make a strong impact on a student’s budding engineering career would be to mentor groups of 10-15 students who are trying to start some sort of project. They’ll typically need help with funding (usually Boeing, raytheon, LM will help out with $1-5k/yr for a well-planned project), keeping their peers involved and excited (school and romance can distract), and simply finding out their own individual strengths that can apply to a post-grad career. With your valuable experience in these industries, Connie, I have no doubt that you would be a good mentor or advisor for such projects.
    Ah, this was a bit more lengthy of a reply, but this is my specialty. My current experiences in such student projects is what I like to write about. 🙂

    • I’m glad you are documenting your adventures and, I hope, misadventures. I wish I had done more of that, but I wasn’t focused on a future career in mentoring and writing at the time. I’m going to be speaking to the SWE chapter at the University of Oklahoma in February and I’m excited to begin what I hope will be a partnering with them. Robotics competitions are the rage around here and I expect I’ll be involved in that in the spring. Thanks for the ideas.

Leave a Reply

