RIP Steve Jobs

Visionary, inspiring, innovative, what other adjectives would you use to describe Steve Jobs? While there will be others to come as there were others who preceded him, Jobs has left an indelible mark on technology, science and society.

I’m so glad to have lived through the emergence of the great inventions that Steve Jobs spearheaded. Starting my career armed with my STEM ‘tools’ of paper, pencil and a straight edge and evolving to today with my work computer that contains a plethora of software applications, I’m just amazed to think that the engineering designs that I work on today would even have been possible thirty years ago.

I know my work life is better because of Steve Jobs. I really tried to keep my first MAC, to no avail.

After working with my first computer, a Hewlett Packard DOS platform, and graduating to my first MAC at the Boeing location in Huntsville, Alabama, I transferred with one of my co-workers to the Oklahoma City Boeing site. New computers were being talked about and we requested a MAC for our new jobs. We loved the MAC and since we were familiar with it, it seemed like a natural. Our manager didn’t see it that way. In fact, the more we talked about wanting a MAC, the more irritated he got. We have Dells now.

I purchased my first personal computer in 1995. I arrived from Gateway in three or four boxes decorated in the distinctive cow pattern that was their brand. It ran the Microsoft Operating System. My next purchase, years later, was a laptop that also ran Microsoft. After frustrations with crashes, viruses, and slow processing speeds, I evolved and purchased a MAC laptop. Why I didn’t follow my heart from that work computer in Huntsville, I’ll never know.

I purchased my first smart phone in 2010. I’ve been pretty much a dinosaur when it comes to cell phones and thought texting was a waste of energy when you could just pick up the phone and talk. Why then would I want a phone that was a mini-computer?

Steve Jobs had my number. A portable computer in which I could keep a calendar, text and maintain a social presence on Facebook and Twitter was just what I had been missing in my life. (There is something really wrong with that conclusion.)

With a little help from my very technologically advanced son, I started my search for the best smart phone for me. The iPhone 4 had only been on the shelves a few months and the infamous antenna/dropped calls issue was still being resolved. I bought a Droid. However, the iPhone came first and blazed the trail for the Android designs.

I’m plugged into so many devices now and I don’t know how my life would be without them

Thank you, Steve Jobs. May you rest in peace.

About stemzandroses

I'm an engineer and writer with a built-in need to share my nearly 40 years of experience working in a male-dominated field with the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

