At Last, an Introduction

Better late than never. I seem to have forgotten the most important part of this blog: letting you, the reader, understand what the heck it is I’m talking about. STEM is a relatively new acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. A push is on in the United States to encourage our young students to pursue careers that fall under this overall umbrella of STEM. In addition to Engineering, careers in this area include computer science, chemistry, physics, biology and many more.

As I’ve been in Engineering for over thirty years, I’ve seen a lot of changes. Not the least of which is the decline in STEM graduates, or even interest in the career. The pay is good and most companies’ benefits are decent, so why aren’t today’s students more enthused?

I hope that by relating some of my experience and observations through this blog, that I can instill an excitement for the STEM fields for educators and students alike. I also hope that some of you who have children or grandchildren will take up the charge and encourage them to join the STEMs.

And now back to our program already in progress…

About stemzandroses

I'm an engineer and writer with a built-in need to share my nearly 40 years of experience working in a male-dominated field with the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

